Old 2011-12-18, 04:04   #1
Christenson

Dec 2010
Monticello

5×359 Posts
Default Elementary Particle Questions...fundamentals of Higgs Boson Theory

Re-post:

Let's have an educational/historical diversion:
Does anyone remember the "ultraviolet catastrophe" of Raleigh-Jeans fame, proving that quantisation was necessary? I want to review the fundamental experimental evidence that anything other than a proton, neutron, electron, and photon actually exist...let's start with anti-matter.

@davieddy: I'm not a physicist! I'm an engineer!

That is, we know photons exist and are quantised because of the photoelectric effect. The black body radiation curve is also helped by quantising the photon energy, as shown by Max Planck.

Charge is clearly quantised as shown by both cathode rays, photomultipliers, thermionic vacuum tubes, and by Millikan's oil drop experiment.

Polonium was produced during WWII by transmutation. I have neutron-activated nickel in a lab before.

So how do I prove that anti-electrons exist? How about the other leptons? Neutrinos? Baryons?

All respondents please note that I am aware that this is probably undergraduate physics material...I want to review and understand the fundamental evidence here. It recalls some lectures I had in physics a very long time ago.

Last fiddled with by Christenson on 2011-12-18 at 04:10
Christenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-12-18, 08:29   #2
xilman
Bamboozled!

"π’‰Ίπ’ŒŒπ’‡·π’†·π’€­"
May 2003
Down not across

2·5,323 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christenson View Post
Re-post:

Let's have an educational/historical diversion:
Does anyone remember the "ultraviolet catastrophe" of Raleigh-Jeans fame, proving that quantisation was necessary? I want to review the fundamental experimental evidence that anything other than a proton, neutron, electron, and photon actually exist...let's start with anti-matter.