mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > New To GIMPS? Start Here! > Information & Answers

Old 2016-01-22, 03:43   #1
christian_

Jan 2016
Mighty Black Stump

24 Posts
Default Where should I start?

Hey everyone! I'm new to this project, and so far I'm enjoying it. Matt Parker's video on standupmaths introduced me to GIMPS. Maybe I'll be the lucky person to find M50, and if not, I'll make some contribution I'm sure.

Anyways, I have both a GTX750 and an Intel Pentium G3258 to contribute, however I don't know what use they would best suit.

I have my 2 cores on the CPU set to 'Whatever makes sense' in Prime95 (both are currently doing DC's), and my GPU is running mfaktc with GPUto72 deciding what to choose (currently doing a LL TF).

However, I have also got CUDALucas installed, which I think is better at doing first-time LL's. With all this in mind, does anyone have any suggestion where my computing power would be most helpful?

I'm very new to all of this terminology so please forgive and correct any errors. :)
christian_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2016-01-22, 04:36   #2
kladner

"Kieren"
Jul 2011
In My Own Galaxy!

26·157 Posts

Your CPU is probably in a good place, at least until you get a couple of good double checks completed.

For the GPU, you might want to look here, for mfaktc performance,

and here, for CUDALucas performance. The comparisons might be helpful, though I can tell you that right now, doing LLTF as assigned by GPU72 is especially valuable to the project.

It also seems that your GPU probably does better at TF work.

These are just opinions, and off-the-cuff ideas. I am sure that others here will chime in, especially if I misstated anything.

Last fiddled with by kladner on 2016-01-22 at 04:37
kladner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2016-01-22, 04:50   #3
Batalov

"Serge"
Mar 2008
Phi(4,2^7658614+1)/2

3·43·71 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by christianpoland View Post