Go Back   mersenneforum.org > New To GIMPS? Start Here! > Information & Answers

Old 2011-02-26, 21:41   #1
Prime95
P90 years forever!

Aug 2002
Yeehaw, FL

23·919 Posts
Default AMD machine fails torture test

A user has been emailing me with an odd torture test failure. I am not an expert in AMD cpus and motherboards, so any help would be appreciated:

His system:

AMD Athlon II X3 3.2 GHz CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103886
MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130563
4 GB (2x2GB) G.SKILL DDR3 1600 RAM (faster than necessary for board): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231277
Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC 430W Power Supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023

The symptom: repeatable crashes 7.5 hours into a blend test.
I suggested isolating which FFT size is the problem, and playing around with swapping DIMMS. This is his latest email:

I switched to a hard disk installation of Ubuntu and ran mprime, redirecting its output to a text file. Reviewing the files from several iterations, each with a reboot after ~7.5 hours, I saw that it was always happening with a 96K FFT length.

Selecting blend test, then custom, and changing the min and max FFT length to 96K results in a consistent and repeatable issue (normally a reboot, but it froze instead at least once) in under five minutes.

Swapping the DIMMs between slots one and two made no difference.

I tested each DIMM alone in slot one. No problems.

I tested one DIMM alone in slot two. No problems.

I tested DIMMS in slots one and three (single channel configuration). No problems.