mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > New To GIMPS? Start Here! > Information & Answers

Old 2010-10-30, 23:02   #1
pjaj

Oct 2010

3·5 Posts
Default Memory allocation

I'm new to GIMPS, so I apologise if this question has already been answered.
I'm running a quad core i7 CPU with Windows 7 Pro 64 bit so, with hyper-threading, there are 8 processors, and hence 8 worker threads.
Is the memory I allocate shared between all 8 workers, or do they each take up to the maximum I've allowed? From the look of it it's the former, so I could give them, say, 6Gb out of my 12Gb to play with, on the other hand I'd not want them to all try to grab their own 6Gb!
I assume that, if I decided to edit an hour's worth of HD video, they would relinquish enough of the memory.
pjaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-10-31, 13:02   #2
Mini-Geek
Account Deleted

"Tim Sorbera"
Aug 2006
San Antonio, TX USA

17×251 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjaj View Post
I'm new to GIMPS, so I apologise if this question has already been answered.
I'm running a quad core i7 CPU with Windows 7 Pro 64 bit so, with hyper-threading, there are 8 processors, and hence 8 worker threads.
Is the memory I allocate shared between all 8 workers, or do they each take up to the maximum I've allowed? From the look of it it's the former, so I could give them, say, 6Gb out of my 12Gb to play with, on the other hand I'd not want them to all try to grab their own 6Gb!
I assume that, if I decided to edit an hour's worth of HD video, they would relinquish enough of the memory.
Four things here:
1. Prime95 isn't able to make good use of the virtual cores given by hyper-threading. You should get better overall performance by giving each worker one physical core.
2. As long as you're just using the standard memory options (as opposed to advanced ones by editing config files, which can set each worker's memory allowed), the memory you give it is shared between all workers.