mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware

Old 2021-05-29, 22:22   #1
MarkVanCoutren

May 2021

2 Posts
Question Help: Hardware errors / 1 Gerbicz/double check error

I'm new to prime95 and GIMPS and I've been getting this message with my Intel Core i5-9600K 3.7 GHz 6-Core Processor running Windows 10

Iteration: 8280000 / 108671053 [7.61%], ms/iter: 10.106, ETA: 11d 17:48
Hardware errors have occurred during the test!
1 Gerbicz/double-check error.
Confidence in final result is excellent

I've been getting this same sequence every iteration and I think I got it on my last number as well. I've tried stopping it for a few hours to let it cool but it keeps giving me the error.
CPU temp is 51/52 C and the cores are around 61 C each (from Open Hardware Monitor)
I haven't tried to overclock this at all. I just left it running nonstop for a few days. Have I broken my computer?

Last fiddled with by MarkVanCoutren on 2021-05-29 at 22:37 Reason: adding more information
MarkVanCoutren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2021-05-29, 23:05   #2
moebius

Jul 2009
Germany

2×313 Posts

Probably your (PRP) result will be right, so let it run till end.

Some memory modules can't be get stable, or the processor core temperatures are to high.
Example for worst case error ratio:
https://mersenneforum.org/showpost.p...&postcount=159
moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2021-05-29, 23:06   #3
tuckerkao

"Tucker Kao"
Jan 2020
Head Base M168202123

7608 Posts

The situation should be okay, it just indicates that there has been 1 Grebicz error check happened. I met this situation before and my final result was still accurate after the PRP certification from another user.

Once an error has occurred, it'll show on every message. Just let the machine finish the PRP testing. Unless you get 2 error checks for the same block, it should be fine in the end.
tuckerkao is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2021-05-29, 23:07   #4
VBCurtis