Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Extra Stuff > Soap Box

Old 2013-06-08, 05:17   #1
cheesehead

"Richard B. Woods"
Aug 2002
Wisconsin USA

22×3×641 Posts
Default On the nature of evidence

I've noticed that some folks seem to have trouble with the concept of evidence.

In view of Brian's recent reminder (http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthr...485#post342485) that there's a difference between discourse and dissertation, I'm posting my evidentiary remarks in this new thread, rather than clutter the other.

I'm gradually learning some of the fine points of distinguishing between what is claimed to be evidence and what actually is evidence. I'll illustrate with a couple of stories, then explore the role of evidence in some ... situations of local interest.

- - -

Forty years ago I was a systems programmer at the Tulsa research center of a major oil company. We had an IBM 1800 mainframe. IBM's main advertising thrust for its 1800 was that it made an excellent process control computer. Some knowledgeable research center folks, plus the IBM customer engineers (CEs), had noticed that the 1800 was capable of being more than "just" a process control computer. Indeed, it was capable of doing as much of the research center workload as a much more expensive IBM 360 system -- after a few years of programming tweaks to the 1800's operating system.

One of my projects was to write the I/O driver, test program, and application software for a digital drum plotter designed to operate on an IBM 360 selector channel. Though a selector channel was not part of standard 1800 equipment, IBM made it possible to add such a channel to the 1800 as a special feature, which we had.