mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Factoring Projects > Aliquot Sequences

Old 2010-10-18, 17:52   #1
bchaffin

Sep 2010
Portland, OR

7×53 Posts
Default Multi-threaded factoring

I'm trying to get the most out of a multi-core system when factoring -- specifically when running aliqueit. Some pieces are simple; yafu and ggnfs are easily configured to run multiple threads. But ecm and polynomial selection run single-threaded, and when running with many cores these portions start to dominate the run time. Of course one approach is just to run fewer curves and jump to yafu's SIQS sooner, and to push the ggnfs cutoff higher, but a nicer solution would be to make more effective use of multiple threads.

Surely I'm not the first to ask this. Is there already a way to thread ecm and poly selection? Or is there something inherently serial about them that I'm missing? (I'm new to factoring and don't claim to understand much of the underlying math.) For ecm it seems like you could easily just divide the number of curves to run across any number of threads. I understand poly selection even less but it seems like that also consists of many independent tests.

Any help or pointers appreciated. Thanks!
bchaffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-10-18, 18:07   #2
Karl M Johnson

Mar 2010

41110 Posts

If you are on Windows, you can just create a batch file for ECM, and run it 4 times(if you have 4 cores).
Here's how I've done the batch file:
Code:
ecm.exe -c 800 2500000 2500000000 <factorme.txt >> OUT\ECM[%random%]N[%random%]
This way, all 4 runs are independent, and output results in for different files.

As for polynomial selection, better use a GPU for that.
Msieve supports Nvidia GPUs currently.
Karl M Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-10-18, 18:11   #3
bsquared

"Ben"
Feb 2007

2·13·127 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bchaffin View Post