mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Fun Stuff > Lounge

Old 2020-10-28, 17:19   #1
mathematizer

Oct 2020

1000002 Posts
Default Hello, from another newbie

Hope this is the right place for this - looks like the introductions post was very outdated.

I was a math major for my undergrad and have been interested in prime numbers and number theory for a while (though my expertise is not nearly at the level of most users here.)

I'm a middle school teacher who finally got around to building a home PC that can participate in the search.

I had been using my CPU (i5 9600k), but received a suspicious result. I tried troubleshooting a little bit, but haven't had much luck correcting it - my "free time" is somewhat limited, especially helping my young child navigate partially remote education.

I switched to gpuowl with my GPU (Radeon 5700xt), and have been working on some manual tests, which seem to be running more reliably.

Just wanted to introduce myself - seems like a great community to be a part of.
mathematizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2020-10-28, 17:35   #2
Uncwilly
6809 > 6502

"""""""""""""""""""
Aug 2003
101×103 Posts

2×3×1,489 Posts

Welcome. That suspect result will mark that CPU for a while. You may get larger exponents for about 3 months. If you haven't installed Prime95 v30 yet on the machine, do it now. The code for running PRP's has robust error checking and correcting built in. And the PRP's will generate a file that allows us to check the result without having to do a full recheck.
Uncwilly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2020-10-28, 18:43   #3
mathematizer

Oct 2020

25 Posts

Thanks - I had recently upgraded to v30, so hopefully that file was generated, though the CPU did an LL test. I then ran the PRP on my GPU and submitted that result.

Wasn’t sure whether it was worth continuing to PRP/LL test on the CPU since I didn’t want to produce more suspicious results.

Last fiddled with by mathematizer on 2020-10-28 at 18:46