mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > New To GIMPS? Start Here! > Information & Answers

Old 2017-01-28, 21:28   #1
MiniGeek

Jan 2017

116 Posts
Default Questions on security and resource pull

Hello!

I am a high school student who recently got a meeting booked with some super high up people in my school district to try to convince them that Broward County Public Schools should join the hunt for prime numbers through GIMPS.
I have two main questions that I would really appreciate if someone smarter than me would answer:
1. How can I assure the Chief Information Officer that installing Prime95 on all of the school district's computers is safe? (As a public school system, we need to make sure that all of the student data is secure. That stuff includes addresses, pictures, and social security numbers. It's not just grades.) I know that many other schools (often universities) run the software, so input from people running those projects would be super helpful and appreciated.
2. Should we be worried about the pull on our computer resources? I've run Prime95 on my own laptop for about a year now, and I find myself having to pause it from time to time because of overheating or it just eating up so much of my CPU that I can hardly use other apps. I have a teacher encouraging me to make this a conditional "Prime95 will only run at night when no students are around" kind of thing, and I'm wondering if everyone else would agree to that. We've got students using 3D modeling apps like Rhino 5 and Adobe apps all the time, along with a number of other apps. Network performance is also a concern. Is there any way that our network would be impacted in a noticeable way because of this?
2.5 If the answers to any of my questions in 2 are yes, how do I fix these issues? Is there a recommended way to limit the times that the software does and doesn't run?

Thank you so much for any input. I'm super excited for my presentation.
MiniGeek is offline   Reply With Quote