mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Software

Closed Thread

Old 2003-11-19, 01:52   #1
Drooling_Sheep

Aug 2003

2·3 Posts
Default Linux

I've been using Prime95 under win xp for 6 months now, and i just set up a linux box (i'm new to linux) running mandrake 9.2.

i downloaded mprime.tar.gz and extracted and ran it. as far as i can tell it just got work and ran one self test (1280K) and hasn't done anything since. the only thing that told me it did anything at all was the creation of files. no dialogs or anything popped up. is this normal behavior? if it is is there a way to make it act like windows version and change settings not shown in the .ini's? if it's not normal behavior do i need the staticly linked version?

thanks for your help
Old 2003-11-19, 01:58   #2
GP2

Sep 2003

3×863 Posts

The Linux version is a non-graphical version.

You shouldn't need the statically-linked version.

The Windows version usually gets installed so that it automatically starts up each time you reboot. The Linux version doesn't have an install procedure, you have to manually start it after each reboot (or manually set it up to restart each time).

You can tell if mprime is running by running the "top" program. If it's there, and your system is idle, it should be using most of the CPU time.

If it's not running, go to the program's directory and run "./mprime -d"... that manually starts it to run in your current command-line window.
Old 2003-11-19, 01:58   #3
Xyzzy

Aug 2002

43·199 Posts

Start it up with

./mprime -m

Then you will get a pile of menus to work with...

Attach or post your results.txt file and your worktodo.ini here so we can look at them...
Old 2003-11-19, 01:59   #4
Prime Monster

Aug 2002

22·5·13 Posts

Start the client with the -m parameter, mprime -m, and you should see output from it.