mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Software

Old 2021-01-10, 20:39   #1
drkirkby

"David Kirkby"
Jan 2021
Althorne, Essex, UK

10110112 Posts
Default Can I reduce the number of cores in a running computatiuon?

I'm new to GIMPS today, so know very little about it.

I set mptime up on my Dell 7920 workstation, which is running CentOS 7 Linux. The Dell 7920 workstation is capable of very high performance (2 x 28 = 56 cores, 24 x 128 GB = 3 TB RAM, about a dozen disks etc), but mine is configured much more modestly, with a single Intel Xeon Silver 4110, which is 8-core 2.2 GHz CPU and currently a single 32 GB RDIMM. A 64-GB LRDIMM is on oder. I intend updating the CPU and RAM as soon as funds permit.

I've set mprime running using all 8-ccores, but the machine does feel noticeably slower, so I'd like to limit the number of cores used by mprime to 6 or 7, rather than all 8. Is this possible to do?

I'm currently testing 2^110068781 -1, which is estimated to take 16 days.

Can I either

a) Reduce the number of cores currently be used to 6?

b) If that's not possible, at least start the next test, in about 16 days, on less than 8-cores?

I intend upgrading the CPU soon, but it may or may not have more than 8 cores. There may be some advantages to me for real work, in going to a CPU with a higher clock speed, but less cores.
drkirkby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2021-01-10, 21:25   #2
VBCurtis

"Curtis"
Feb 2005
Riverside, CA

111748 Posts

Yes- you can tell mprime to use fewer cores. Just stop the current worker, change settings for your preferences, and start worker.

As for making your workstation feel snappier, you really ought to have 4 matching (same size) sticks of RAM. Memory access on that board/CPU is designed with 4 channels, but you only have one stick so only one channel used.