mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Math Stuff > Computer Science & Computational Number Theory

Old 2017-09-01, 08:24   #1
lucaf

Aug 2017

210 Posts
Default Simple Atkin sieve java example

Hi all,

I'm lurking your site since months and I'm impressed by the high level of your knowledge.

I experienced some difficult in find clear examples and applications of Atkin / Bernstein sieve, so I wrote my own example code for educational purposes.

The code is here:

https://gist.github.com/lucafmi/729f...67ea233abbb3c6

it's not optimized (not multi-thread, written in java, no deep reduction of operations) because it's a simple version that can be read and understood easily.
I'm not a math expert, I'm a software engineer, so my question is:
am I interpreted the algorithm in the right way? Did I something wrong?

Am I missing some important part?
Any suggestion, observation, is appreciated

Thank you all
LucaF
lucaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-10-04, 19:44   #2
Till

"Tilman Neumann"
Jan 2016
Germany

2·7·31 Posts

Hi Luca,
I was thinking some time ago to implement the Atkins sieve in Java and just found your thread today. I didn't give it a deeper look yet, but if I can trust the comments in your code then you get the right number of primes below 1000. So there's some reason to believe that it works. I'ld say it looks fine.

Btw. most guys here are only interested in maximum speed solutions I guess, i.e. C and assembler code. Don't get discouraged by that ;-)

Till

Last fiddled with by Till on 2017-10-04 at 19:45 Reason: typo
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-10-05, 12:54   #3
CRGreathouse

Aug 2006

176116 Posts
Smile

Neat!

I haven't gone through the code yet, but at a first glance:
  • I know you're not going for speed, but still it might be worth using something like BitSet rather than a boolean array for the bits.