Thread: White 17
View Single Post
Old 2013-12-13, 17:49   #2
cheesehead
 
cheesehead's Avatar
 
"Richard B. Woods"
Aug 2002
Wisconsin USA

22·3·641 Posts
Default

Their most recent move (16 ... c4): [URL]http://mersenneforum.org/showpost.php?p=361971&postcount=103[/URL]

Our deadline: Friday, December 20, 9:54 am GMT = 2:54 PM Thai time = 4:54 AM EST = 3:54 AM CST

- -

We seem to have been discussing a Black ... c4 only after some other 16th move. They, of course, have played it now at the proper time.

Some candidates for us now:

[B]17 d4[/B]

Makes our e-pawn sort of a dagger, but shuts out our Bc5 and Nd4 possibilities

[B]17 dxc4
[/B]
But then 17 ... bxc4 nicely opens up the b-file for their rook.

[B]17 Nf2[/B]

Surely they wouldn't be so accommodating as to play 17 ... cxd3 allowing us lots of possibilities after 18 Nxd3 ?
OTOH this would bring up our back-row knight for further adventure on e4 or g4 (Nf2-g4-h6 looks attractive!) --- but we could do that anyway with 18 Nf2 after 17 d4.
OTOOH Nf2 leaves our B/e3 without a defender after their Nd5 or Nf5

[B]17 Bc5[/B]

If 17 ... cxd3 18 Nf2 d2 19 R/ad1

- -

[I]But here's an interesting alternative:[/I]

[B]17 Ng5[/B] threatening to take the f-pawn!

If 17 ... f6 or 17 ... f5 then 18 exf6 piece-fork

If 17 ... Nxe5 18 d4 Nd3 is rather invasive but 19 Nxf7 is even more so. (19 ... O-O 20 Nh6+ or 19 ... Rf8 20 Nd6+)

If 17 ... Nxe5 18 d4 Ng4 19 Nxf7

Or 17 ... Bxe5 18 d4 Bc7 (or ... Bg7) 19 Nxf7

If 17 ... cxd3 18 Nxf7

17 ... O-O may be better for Black. 18 d4 looking at Nf2-e4

[i]Or, maybe best of all,[/i]

17 ... Nf5

Needs more analysis.

17 ... Nf5 18 d4 O-O 19 maybe g4

Last fiddled with by cheesehead on 2013-12-13 at 18:06
cheesehead is offline