mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Prime95 v30.4/30.5/30.6 (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=26376)

Cruelty 2021-08-30 14:55

This is strange, as I left the PC running for several hours and now "residue" files are gone, so I am not really sure what fixed that :unsure:

kriesel 2021-08-30 18:01

[QUOTE=Cruelty;586861]This is strange, as I left the PC running for several hours and now "residue" files are gone, so I am not really sure what fixed that :unsure:[/QUOTE]Stopping and restarting will apply new settings. Or in some cases the next worktodo assignment will benefit from them without a stop/restart of the program. There are also some settings that are applied immediately, such as changing allowed ram for P-1/P+1/ECM, generating a worker stop/continue-with-new-limits if applicable.

Cruelty 2021-08-30 20:41

I have edited config files while the application was not running, and started it after I saved the configs, so it must have been the next worktodo assignment that triggered it.
Thanks for the clarification :smile:

chalsall 2021-08-30 21:00

[QUOTE=Cruelty;586887]I have edited config files while the application was not running, and started it after I saved the configs, so it must have been the next worktodo assignment that triggered it.[/QUOTE]

Not running as in paused? Or fully exited? Very different states.

[URL="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rksCTVFtjM4"]Have you tried turning it off and on again?[/URL] is asked by all Help Desks for a reason (no matter the complaint).

tha 2021-08-31 13:45

I use: Linux64,Prime95,v30.6,build 3

My settings:
[CODE]Temporary disk space limit in GB/worker (6.000000):
Daytime P-1/P+1/ECM stage 2 memory in GB (10.800000):
Nighttime P-1/P+1/ECM stage 2 memory in GB (10.800000):
Upload bandwidth limit in Mbps (5.000000):
Upload large files time period start (00:00):
Upload large files time period end (24:00):
Download limit for certification work in MB/day (400):
Skip advanced resource settings (Y):
[/CODE]

Typical workload:
[CODE]
Pminus1=N/A,1,2,9380477,-1,2000000,21600000,71
Pminus1=N/A,1,2,9380521,-1,2000000,21600000,71
Pminus1=N/A,1,2,9380633,-1,2000000,21600000,71
Pminus1=N/A,1,2,9381019,-1,2000000,21600000,71[/CODE]

Whenever Mprime is the only application running, I never see things go wrong. When I run Firefox and surf the internet, usually youtube, multiple times a week the SSD will start to do an insane amount of traffic handling, the screen will freeze except for the mouse pointer which will be severely hampered and eventually mprime will be killed by the OS (Ubuntu 20.04)

Has done that for multiple weeks.

Anything I can do to get better clues of what happens?

axn 2021-08-31 14:01

You're probably running low on RAM. What's your swapfile settings?

kriesel 2021-08-31 14:47

[QUOTE=tha;586922]I use: Linux64,Prime95,v30.6,build 3
... When I run Firefox and surf the internet, usually youtube, multiple times a week the SSD will start to do an insane amount of traffic handling[/QUOTE]
What are your system specs, especially ram installed? What does a good system monitor say about free ram, & committed ram, when running just mprime and when also running a web browser? (Top or similar in Linux, Task Manager in Windows, either/both if WSL is in play.)

It may help to pare back the mprime ram allowance from 10.8 GiB to 9 or 8 (making sure day and night settings match). Or reduce number of open tabs in the web browser. Firefox is a notorious memory hog. A quick web search of "firefox memory usage per tab" yields many links, including [url]https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/firefox-uses-too-much-memory-or-cpu-resources?redirectslug=firefox-uses-too-much-memory-ram&redirectlocale=en-US[/url] (Who knew Firefox has its own task manager?)
See also mprime's PauseWhileRunning as a possibility.

[QUOTE=chalsall;586889][URL="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rksCTVFtjM4"]Have you tried turning it off and on again?[/URL][/QUOTE]Nice t-shirt.

chalsall 2021-08-31 16:03

[QUOTE=kriesel;586926]Top or similar in Linux...[/QUOTE]

I like to use [C]vmstat -w 60[/C] for long-term trending. Also, installing and running [C]nmon[/C] is worth the effort.

pepi37 2021-08-31 23:52

[QUOTE=Prime95;586843]Try ProofPower=0[/QUOTE]
Since you write this application, please add one switch for users that doesnot need generation of proof task.
I use it for PRP on CRUS based sequences as on near-repdigit sequences, on Win and Linux, and I love piece of software, so I would like to use latest version, but without generation of proof task.

Thanks
Hope this is not big problem for you

PhilF 2021-09-01 00:17

[QUOTE=chalsall;586932]Also, installing and running [C]nmon[/C] is worth the effort.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for that!

But you were right -- it was a LOT of effort:

aptitude update
aptitude install nmon

:smile:

Prime95 2021-09-01 02:04

[QUOTE=pepi37;586951]Since you write this application, please add one switch for users that doesnot need generation of proof task.[/QUOTE]

What's wrong with ProofPower=0?


All times are UTC. The time now is 21:05.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.