mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Hardware (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Failing Torture Test.. (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=2249)

jugbugs 2004-03-20 09:42

Failing Torture Test..
 
Okay here's the deal. I have three computers, one of which can accually pass the torture test. The other two I cant get to pass. I need to know what could be causing this and why (possibly).
Here's the two that wont pass it.

Computer 1:
P4 2.4GHz 800Mhz FSB
PC Chips M952 MB
512 Samsung DDR3200
80 G SATA HDD

Computer 2:
P4 2.8GHz 800MHz FSB
PC Chips M952 MB
512 Samsung DDR3200
Dual 80 G SATA Raid 0 HDDs

The one that does pass it looks like this:

Computer 3:
P4 2.0GHz 400MHz FSB
PC Chips MB (dun member part #)
512 DDR 2700
80G ATA HDD

I have tried using the 'good' RAM in both the other computers so we can rule that out, unless the speed (400MHz vs 333MHz) makes a difference.

I am using Prime 95 v24.8.1 on default settings and doing the combo torture test.

The CPU temps get no higher than ~45C on both boards and the voltages appear to be very stable. Here is what Prime says to me.

Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
Same thing on both. whats the deal?

Thanks in advance. :)

dsouza123 2004-03-20 14:33

Try underclocking the CPUs and/or RAM.

Some PCs that are unstable/have errors will run stable at lower CPU and RAM speeds.

Another is boosting the CPU voltage slightly.

I am guessing you ment version 23.8.1

outlnder 2004-03-20 17:37

Update all drivers. Prime95 is very finicky about the proper video card and sound card drivers. You may have to use older drivers if the newest ones don't work.

Also, you will need a very good power supply.

Xyzzy 2004-03-20 21:31

Have you tried the mprime Linux floppy torture test?

It sure eliminates a lot of variables!

jugbugs 2004-03-20 23:07

Dont know what the differnece between the two are, but I used mprime-memtest-bootdisk and got the same error. Whats is the difference between mmdisk-1.0 and mprime-memtest-bootdisk...

Also, I tried 3 sets of drivers all with the same result.

What do mean "very good power supply"?

Yes version 23.8.1, sorry.

Thanks again y'all

Xyzzy 2004-03-21 01:19

mmdisk-1.0 is newer... Look at the time stamps...

If your box failed with that floppy it is time to start eliminating hardware variables... Simplify the system...

outlnder 2004-03-21 03:14

At the least a 300 watt power supply of reputable manufacture. If not a top line, then 350 to 400 watt PSU should do.

What happens sometimes is that the CPU voltage dips for just a second. This is enough to cause enough errors to produce a failure.

Also, memtest your Ram for about 12 hours or more.

Xyzzy 2004-03-21 04:14

That said, every box I own has a power supply < 200W...

But you can't go wrong with a good (Antec) 300W...

geoff 2004-03-21 08:42

[QUOTE=jugbugs]Whats is the difference between mmdisk-1.0 and mprime-memtest-bootdisk[/QUOTE]

Use mmdisk-1.0.zip. mprime-memtest-bootdisk.zip doesn't properly detect how much system memory the machine has, so just uses 8MB default. It should still work correctly but won't stress the memory as much.

Having said that, since you get the same error you can probably rule out faulty device drivers or other OS problems.

45C should not normally be a problem for a P4, but it seems quite high for a machine running at stock speed. What is the room temperature like?

jugbugs 2004-03-22 08:18

Powersupply is a 400W LCT

The CPU temp is more like 42C, and room temp is about 75F.
In my BIOS is lists a POWER temperature, is that the temp of the PS? or something on the MB, seems that temp gets rather high, like 50C+.

Thanks y'all, 'tis nice to hear others opinions.

Xyzzy 2004-03-22 15:06

[QUOTE=geoff]Use mmdisk-1.0.zip. mprime-memtest-bootdisk.zip doesn't properly detect how much system memory the machine has, so just uses 8MB default. It should still work correctly but won't stress the memory as much.[/QUOTE]Should we just delete the old floppy image from that folder since the new version is so much better?


All times are UTC. The time now is 21:45.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.