mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Hardware (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   New Computer (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=10314)

Housemouse 2008-05-19 17:16

New Computer
 
My computer has died. When I buy my new computer and install GIMPS, how do I keep credit for my prior activity?

Mini-Geek 2008-05-19 17:23

[quote=Housemouse;133680]My computer has died. When I buy my new computer and install GIMPS, how do I keep credit for my prior activity?[/quote]
I think you'll need to know your old user name. Then just change your user name on your new computer to the same user name from your old computer.

Housemouse 2008-06-02 14:52

I bought a new computer, a quad 4. How do I run 4 instances of Prime95, do I just load the program four times? Will the computer know to assign it to eachn core?

Mini-Geek 2008-06-02 17:35

[quote=Housemouse;135000]I bought a new computer, a quad 4. How do I run 4 instances of Prime95, do I just load the program four times? Will the computer know to assign it to eachn core?[/quote]
Make 4 copies of the Prime95 folder and run each one (or use one folder and use the -A0 through -A3 command line switches for each copy). The computer will know automatically that they should use all your cores (you can check that there's 100% CPU usage, 25 per instance, in the task manager), or you can set the Affinity in Options - Affinity to 0 through 3 to make sure.

Uncwilly 2008-06-02 21:43

Or, go over to the version 25.6 [URL="http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=9779"]thread[/URL], download v25.x and it will handle that for you, you will only then want to 'change the line "UseV4=0" to "UseV4=1" in prime.txt'.

mdettweiler 2008-06-02 22:28

[quote=Uncwilly;135033]Or, go over to the version 25.6 [URL="http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=9779"]thread[/URL], download v25.x and it will handle that for you, you will only then want to 'change the line "UseV4=0" to "UseV4=1" in prime.txt'.[/quote]
Actually, I think by default the "UseV4" line doesn't even exist in prime.txt for v25.x, and unless you add it as "UseV4=0" it will connect to the V4 server. :smile:

Housemouse 2008-06-03 16:41

How do I make copies of prime95?

Mini-Geek 2008-06-03 17:01

[quote=Housemouse;135079]How do I make copies of prime95?[/quote]
Just copy/paste the Prime95 folder (default C:\Program Files\Prime95 if you used the installer, or wherever you unzipped it to if you used the zip) three times.

S485122 2008-06-03 18:06

[QUOTE=Mini-Geek;135085]Just copy/paste the Prime95 folder (default C:\Program Files\Prime95 if you used the installer, or wherever you unzipped it to if you used the zip) three times.[/QUOTE]DO NOT put it in C:\Program Files\Prime95 if you are using VISTA, you will get a lot of problems (Folders and files do not have write access in C:\Program Files under VISTA and changing the permissions does not seem to be permanent...) Use a sub folder of Documents instead.

Jacob

RMAC9.5 2008-06-03 21:31

I always create a separate folder called Mersenne Primes on my C: or D: drive for all of my Prime95 files and folders. This makes it really easy to find when I open Windows Explorer. For a dual core system I create two folders Mersenne Primes-0 and Mersenne Primes-1.

IronBits 2008-06-04 00:02

I keep everything under C:\dcprojects if it's a dedicated cruncher or D:\dcprojects for any working computers with a 2nd drive/partition ;)
as an example...
D:\dcprojects\Prime95\Core1
D:\dcprojects\Prime95\Core2
D:\dcprojects\Prime95\Core3
D:\dcprojects\Prime95\Core4
D:\dcprojects\BOINC
D:\dcprojects\DNET
D:\dcprojects\EON\Eon1
D:\dcprojects\EON\Eon2
D:\dcprojects\EON\Eon3
D:\dcprojects\EON\Eon4
etc.


All times are UTC. The time now is 16:51.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.