mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Runtime C++ error (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=26209)

Cazor Denis 2020-11-19 09:32

Runtime C++ error
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hi,

I am using Win XP and prime95 version 29.8b6 on ten computers (from 19 years). This morning, without no apparent raison, on one computer, I obtain a Runtime C++ error : "This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it ..". ??, I tried to test hardware, the processor work fine.

Prime95 program start, run 2 minutes, then stop at his request. What is hapening and how correct the problem ? (Attached files to look at the state).

Uncwilly 2020-11-20 03:54

Welcome to the forum.

What type of machine are you running this on?
Any recent changes to it?

It looks like you are trying to use too much memory. Try the following:
Stop and exit Prime95. [B]Copy[/B] worktodo file to a new file. Restart Prime95, set it to not use Primenet, and change it to 2 workers with 1/2 of the number of CPU cores for each worker. Stop and exit Prime95. Rearrange the assignments from your [B]copy[/B] of the worktodo into the actual worktodo file. Save it. Restart Prime95 and set it to use Primenet.

You should upgrade your Prime95 to [URL="https://www.mersenne.org/download/"]version 30[/URL]. It is a major upgrade that will help the project.

I removed your files that revealed the AID's for your assignments. Don't post the Assignment ID's because someone could do unkind things by using your AID's.

kruoli 2020-11-20 11:10

If I remember correctly, v30 does not work on Windows XP anymore because of George's update to a more recent compiler. So unfortunately, one is stuck with v29 if using XP.

samll 2020-11-20 16:39

[QUOTE]Hi,

I am using Win XP and prime95 version 29.8b6 on ten computers (from 19 years). This morning, without no apparent raison, on one computer, I obtain a Runtime C++ error : "This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it ..". ??, I tried to test hardware, the processor work fine.

Prime95 program start, run 2 minutes, then stop at his request. What is hapening and how correct the problem ? (Attached files to look at the state).[/QUOTE]

I think that you need to restore your system from an older backup and do not install the latest update

Cazor Denis 2020-11-20 22:16

Processor is Xeon W3670. No changes for 3 years. I only want to use XP.

Cazor Denis 2020-11-20 22:30

Hello Uncwilly,

I tried to do what you said in your message. It worked fine. But, now I use only 3 processors instead of 6. 500 Mo memory instead of 1800 Mo. I suppose this was too much for my memory size (6 Go / 3 Go with XP). But why it worked fine until now ? Too big Mersenne numbers to search ?

kruoli 2020-11-20 22:44

Your Prime95 used 1,800 MB of main memory before your problems started? [STRIKE]That's way too much since you are only running PRP (as in your screenshot). Are you referring to your system's total main memory usage? If that is the case, it should be totally fine.[/STRIKE]

The numbers are not too big for your RAM when doing PRP, since this test itselfs uses little memory.

Edit: I should have had a more thorough look at the screenshot. You are trying to do some P-1 on multiple workers? Yes, that's too much.

kruoli 2020-11-20 22:49

1 Attachment(s)
Regarding only six cores being used: You have to set the workers as seen in the attachment. Of course, you might alter the type of work to get to fit your personal preferences.

You may also swap the 2 and 3. One way, it will have three workers using two threads each, the other way, you will have two workers with three threads each. It may give you a performance benefit and will use less RAM at once!

Uncwilly 2020-11-20 22:56

If you have it set correctly, each worker can be using 2 CPU cores. So you will be using all 6 cores. This can help reduce the memory issues. Before I removed it, your worktodo file did not show that you had P-1 or ECM assignments. Those need more memory. I think George will be the best one to answer this.

When did you last update Prime95?


All times are UTC. The time now is 18:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.