mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Information & Answers (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   q6600 = run 4 instances of prime95? (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=9319)

bazza 2007-09-20 10:55

q6600 = run 4 instances of prime95?
 
as title

a q6600 run 4 instances of prime95? as opposed to prime95 taking advantage of 4 cores?

Mini-Geek 2007-09-20 11:42

[quote=bazza;114714]as title

a q6600 run 4 instances of prime95? as opposed to prime95 taking advantage of 4 cores?[/quote]
The stable v24 does require you to run four separate instances. The alpha v25 can run one worker thread on multiple cores, but loses efficiency when it does so, or lets you run the four threads on their own cores without going through the trouble of making four instances come up.

jasong 2007-09-20 23:23

I don't run this project often(not enough patience), but running two cores on one exponent(0 and 1, or 2 and 3) achieves a testing time of very slightly over half the time one core would take. Something along the lines, of 50-53%. 3 and 4 core usage is not recommended, or at least not recommended on Intels 2 quad-cores. The new Opterons(Barcelona) may, [b]may[/b], be a different situation altogether.


All times are UTC. The time now is 07:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.