mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   PrimeNet (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Getting a new Prime to calculate (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=11139)

roemer2201 2008-12-16 16:16

Getting a new Prime to calculate
 
Hello :-)

I got a PC with a AMD Athlon 1200+ and he recived a relativly huge prime to calculate. One iteration to about 0.405 seconds, if the PC runs 24/7 it would take 219 days... I think it would be better if my CPU calculates a smaller number.
So I want to know how i can stop calculating the current number and recive a new smaller one without deleting the worktodo.ini. And maybe i can recive the GHZ-days for the calculating so far. How can i do that?

petrw1 2008-12-16 18:15

[QUOTE]I got a PC with a AMD Athlon 1200+ and he recived a relativly huge prime to calculate. One iteration to about 0.405 seconds, if the PC runs 24/7 it would take 219 days...[/QUOTE]

If you do not specify otherwise you will get LL tests on a PC like yours that will probably take that long.

[QUOTE]I think it would be better if my CPU calculates a smaller number.[/QUOTE]

You can specifically request Double Checks ... they will probably take about 1/4 as long. Or any of the several types of factoring assignments which would finish in hours or days.
[CODE]Test...
Worker Windows...
Type of Work to get[/CODE]

[QUOTE]So I want to know how i can stop calculating the current number and recive a new smaller one without deleting the worktodo.ini. And maybe i can recive the GHZ-days for the calculating so far. How can i do that? [/QUOTE]

[CODE]Advanced...
Unreserve Exponent...[/CODE]
Partial credit is NOT awarded. The assignment must complete.

Mr. P-1 2008-12-20 16:12

[QUOTE=roemer2201;153599]Hello :-)

I got a PC with a AMD Athlon 1200+ and he recived a relativly huge prime to calculate. One iteration to about 0.405 seconds, if the PC runs 24/7 it would take 219 days... I think it would be better if my CPU calculates a smaller number.
So I want to know how i can stop calculating the current number and recive a new smaller one without deleting the worktodo.ini. And maybe i can recive the GHZ-days for the calculating so far. How can i do that?[/QUOTE]

What work are you actually doing on it currently? First-time LL tests usually require P-1 factoring, and may also require some trial factoring prior to starting the LL test proper. This preliminary work takes a few hours or days and you will get credit if you finish it.

If you have started the LL test proper, and you do not complete it then the only way to save the work you have done so far would be to find someone else willing to take it on, and send them the save files. They, not you, would then get the credit for the work you did.


All times are UTC. The time now is 11:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.