mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   No Prime Left Behind (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   Sieving drive for k=1005-2000 n=200K-500K (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=11204)

MyDogBuster 2009-01-03 04:54

[quote]I'd love to help, but I don't recall how to do a darn thing with sieve, nor what software or how to go about it.
I asked Max to send me a care package that I can unzip to some directory and run some program on 8 cores, Intel I7, Vista 64bit.
Let's see what happens
[/quote]

Care packages are good. LOL

BTW I also got an Intel I7 last Monday. I finally had enuf of my AMD Quad.
It has 4 cores, but 8 threads. I figured out that it is the equivalent of a 6 core quad running at 2.66ghz each. SWEET

IronBits 2009-01-03 05:06

:party:
That's excellent!
Now if I could only convince you to join Free-DC, if for nothing more than some balance. :grin:

mdettweiler 2009-01-03 06:26

[quote=IronBits;156587]I'd love to help, but I don't recall how to do a darn thing with sieve, nor what software or how to go about it.
I asked Max to send me a care package that I can unzip to some directory and run some program on 8 cores, Intel I7, Vista 64bit.
Let's see what happens...[/quote]
Okay, given that...I'll reserve 7200G-8200G for you and send you a package shortly all pre-configured for that range. That should hold you for about a week on all 8 cores, if my figuring is correct. :smile:

IronBits 2009-01-03 06:43

Hey Dog, I'm using an
ASUS P6T Deluxe mobo
Monsoon III LT HSF
6gb Corsair TR3X6G1333C9 R memory (3x2gb)
Just got mine running on Vista 64, what are you using?
Have you pushed yours to 3.8GHz yet?
What's yer rig dude? Spill the beans :grin:

Thinking about dual booting with 2nd HDD into Linux ;)

IronBits 2009-01-03 07:19

Thanks Max!
Sieving has commenced. :)

MyDogBuster 2009-01-03 07:24

[QUOTE]Hey Dog, I'm using an
ASUS P6T Deluxe mobo
Monsoon III LT HSF
6gb Corsair TR3X6G1333C9 R memory (3x2gb)
Just got mine running on Vista 64, what are you using?
Have you pushed yours to 3.8GHz yet?
What's yer rig dude? Spill the beans :grin:

[/QUOTE]

I don't overclock.

I only have 3gb DDR3 memory 1066 mhz

Not a clue on the mobo. Whatever was in there.

Vista 64

IronBits 2009-01-03 08:39

Sounds like a store bought rig. Probably simpler that way in many ways.
I bought a whole computer once, my first one, back in 1984-1985, 286-12 MHz with turbo button to toggle between 4.77 and 12, which was important when playing centipede. <lol>

nuggetprime 2009-01-03 13:16

Taking 8200G-8600G.

nugget

gd_barnes 2009-01-03 13:56

Thanks everyone for quickly hopping in here after the we got the n=350K-352K range ran!

To clarify so that everyone is clear:

1. We shouldn't need to sieve past P=10000G (10T). I just don't want anyone to waste any cores by reserving anything past that limit. I'll make a note in the 1st post of the thread about it.

2. My first range will be done early on Jan. 6th on 2 quads. I could then load them with another P=1600G range that would complete by Jan. 16th but I see that there is now only a P=1400G range remaining up to P=10000G (10T). Therefore on Jan. 6th, I'll reserve whatever is remaining to P=10T. At that point, the reservations will be closed for the sieving effort.

3. I am planning on all of my ranges being done on Jan. 16th. If you can shoot for that date on your reserved ranges, that would be helpful.


Technically, we're shooting for Jan. 20th but with all the help coming in, I figured we can shoot for sooner.


Thanks,
Gary

nuggetprime 2009-01-03 16:24

Just a suggestion: run multiple threads instead of multiple instances. It's easier to handle and is even a little bit faster because less RAM is used.

nugget

IronBits 2009-01-03 16:36

How do you do that?
I assume your talking about having several startup scripts, just one startup script?


All times are UTC. The time now is 07:43.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.