mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   No Prime Left Behind (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   Sieving drive for k=1005-2000 n=200K-500K (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=11204)

mdettweiler 2008-12-26 23:40

[quote=Flatlander;155174]Taking/running 3600-3800G on two cores in Ubuntu 64bit. :smile:


I am getting little/no speed increase over 32bit Windows. Where can I get details of CPU speed/temps etc? How do I assign affinity to each core?[/quote]
Hmm...that's weird. Are you sure you downloaded the sr2sieve version labeled "x86_64" for Linux instead of the one labeled just "x86"? Otherwise you may be in fact running the 32-bit Linux version under 64-bit Ubuntu--which would explain why you're not seeing any speed increase. There should be about a 2x increase in the p/sec. rate for 64-bit vs. 32-bit.

As for affinity: try running the command ./sr2sieve -h in your sr2sieve directory. That's the same as "sr2sieve -h" on Windows; it will give you a complete listing of all the command line flags that sr2sieve supports, including ones that set affinity.

MyDogBuster 2008-12-27 00:01

Okay, the scoreboard seems to be correct SO,

I'll take 4250 - 5850. That should fill me up till about the Jan 16th.

gd_barnes 2008-12-27 00:25

[quote=MyDogBuster;155216]Okay, the scoreboard seems to be correct SO,

I'll take 4250 - 5850. That should fill me up till about the Jan 16th.[/quote]


I now have you down for the entire range of 4050 - 5850.

Flatlander 2008-12-27 01:26

[quote=mdettweiler;155209]Hmm...that's weird. Are you sure you downloaded the sr2sieve version labeled "x86_64" for Linux instead of the one labeled just "x86"? ....[/quote]
It was the 64bit version from the link you provided. I assume if I've accidentally installed 32bit Ubuntu, 64 bit sr2sieve wouldn't run at all?

MyDogBuster 2008-12-27 01:31

[QUOTE]I now have you down for the entire range of 4050 - 5850.
[/QUOTE]

That's right. It's a mess. I can still get about 400G for my original 2 cores, but I'll hold off on that to see how everything goes.

mdettweiler 2008-12-27 01:49

[quote=Flatlander;155222]It was the 64bit version from the link you provided. I assume if I've accidentally installed 32bit Ubuntu, 64 bit sr2sieve wouldn't run at all?[/quote]
You are correct--32-bit Ubuntu would not run 64-bit sr2sieve at all. And I just verified that the link I posted *is* for the latest 64-bit version of sr2sieve--so I have absolutely no idea why it's acting this way for you.

I would suggest posting about your situation in [url=http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=5785]this thread[/url], which is where Geoff usually posts general information about the sr*sieve programs. Maybe he'll know what's going on here.

Flatlander 2008-12-27 03:30

[quote=mdettweiler;155226]You are correct--32-bit Ubuntu would not run 64-bit sr2sieve at all. And I just verified that the link I posted *is* for the latest 64-bit version of sr2sieve--so I have absolutely no idea why it's acting this way for you.

I would suggest posting about your situation in [URL="http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=5785"]this thread[/URL], which is where Geoff usually posts general information about the sr*sieve programs. Maybe he'll know what's going on here.[/quote]
Is there some way I can get a reading of the speed I'm running at. (In Ubuntu not in the BIOS.) I've downloaded "Device Manager" but it just tells me the stock speed.

mdettweiler 2008-12-27 06:31

[quote=Flatlander;155239]Is there some way I can get a reading of the speed I'm running at. (In Ubuntu not in the BIOS.) I've downloaded "Device Manager" but it just tells me the stock speed.[/quote]
Okay, right-click on one of your taskbars (the upper taskbar is better for this since adding gadgets there won't hog room from your active-window buttons), and click Add to Panel. Locate the CPU Frequency Scaling Monitor in the list that comes up, and click Add to Panel twice (once for each core). Then right-click on the second gadget that you just added and click Properties; set it to report the frequency for CPU 1 (the other should be left at the default, CPU 0). That should tell you what speed your CPU is currently running at.

If it's running lower than it should, you can use the CPU Frequency Scaling Monitors to fix this. Open a terminal window, and run the command "sudo dpkg-reconfigure gnome-applets" (without quotes). Enter your password when prompted. It will ask you whether or not to allow the cpufreq-selector applet to have root privileges; select Yes and press Enter. You will be dumped back at the terminal prompt; now close the terminal.

Now, if you left-click on the applet, you'll see options to manually set the CPU to a particular frequency, as well as multiple predefined settings (referred to as "governors")--namely, "Conservative", "Ondemand", "Performance", and "Powersave". Choose either the highest clock speed level, or the "Performance" governor, and you should be in business. :smile:

Hope this helps! :smile:

Max :smile:

Flatlander 2008-12-27 07:13

Thanks Max. :smile:
That showed me that it was running at stock (1.8GHz) instead of 2.38GHz. For some reason the BIOS had reset the speed when I rebooted.
I'm now getting slightly better p/sec than my quad @ 3.15Ghz.

So 64bit is running about 33% faster than 32bit. (Maybe the caches are different. I'll check it out later.)

mdettweiler 2008-12-27 07:28

[quote=Flatlander;155261]Thanks Max. :smile:
That showed me that it was running at stock (1.8GHz) instead of 2.38GHz. For some reason the BIOS had reset the speed when I rebooted.
I'm now getting slightly better p/sec than my quad @ 3.15Ghz.

So 64bit is running about 33% faster than 32bit. (Maybe the caches are different. I'll check it out later.)[/quote]
Okay, glad to hear you got it working. :smile: Though, I can't imagine how the caches would be different between operating systems...I would instead presume that the boost only being 33% is due entirely to the 64-bit system being clocked at 2.38Ghz rather than the 3.15Ghz 32-bit comparison machine.

mdettweiler 2008-12-27 08:16

Taking 5850G-5900G. I'll start this tomorrow (my 5th Drive range should finish overnight). :smile:


All times are UTC. The time now is 07:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.