mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   YAFU (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=96)
-   -   YAFU 2.0 (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=26681)

bsquared 2022-08-10 22:20

[QUOTE=James Heinrich;611177]I process batches of 100 at a time, submit results, fetch new, re-launch YAFU against the next batch.

I've done this successfully for long periods with v1.34.5 but only just started this on YAFU 2.09 today because the [c]-batchfile[/c] option was broken until this morning.

I'm not fully convinced that it's a YAFU-error rather than a Windows-error, just that YAFU's handling of the error condition should be better.[/QUOTE]

I've just done some tests with larger batch files and I'm having problems too. There is some kind of memory or file descriptor leak somewhere that I'll have to track down. Sorry about that! Smaller batches seem to work... which of course doesn't fix the problem but might be a work around for now.

James Heinrich 2022-08-10 23:35

[QUOTE=bsquared;611181]Smaller batches seem to work...[/QUOTE]I've always done batch of 100. I've completed 14x 100 since restarting after posting my bug report and it's been going fine (so far).

bsquared 2022-08-11 14:38

After some longer tests, I've checked in a few fixes and added some missing traps for file open errors. The .exe is updated. Long batchfiles are working fine for me now too.

James Heinrich 2022-08-11 15:07

It had been running fine with 100-batches for about 16h, but I've switched to the new build.

If I may repeat a request in the JSON output, would it be possible to add a [c]sum[/c] key in addition the the [c]tXX[/c] keys? I know we can calculate it ourselves, but it's easier if it's just there.

Also, perhaps for more-compact output the not-used values could be omitted -- for example if P+1, NFS, etc wasn't run there's no need to output the zero values: [c]"pp1":0.0000[/c], [c]"nfs-total":0.0000, "nfs-poly":0.0000, "nfs-sieve":0.0000, "nfs-filter":0.0000, "nfs-la":0.0000, "nfs-sqrt":0.0000[/c]. That's the beauty of JSON -- fields can be added or omitted without breaking the output.

EdH 2022-08-12 14:53

Quick question: Can YAFU pass on GPU use for Msieve calls. I'm not seeing it in the docs. I thought I had in the past.

BudgieJane 2022-08-14 22:00

[QUOTE=bsquared;611133]Checked in new update and new windows exe:

+ by default json output is now all on one line, -jsonpretty option to pretty print like before (each category on separate line)[/QUOTE]

How do I put that jsonpretty option into yafu.ini? When I just put the word on a line by itself (as with similar options in the sample yafu.ini) it seems to be ignored. I've checked and I haven't misspelt it.

Stargate38 2022-08-16 17:17

Try "jsonpretty=1". I've noticed that for a given flag that putting the flag name, followed by "=1" (i.e. v=1) works.

BudgieJane 2022-08-16 22:50

[QUOTE=Stargate38;611580]Try "jsonpretty=1". I've noticed that for a given flag that putting the flag name, followed by "=1" (i.e. v=1) works.[/QUOTE]

No, sorry, that doesn't work.

bsquared 2022-08-17 12:49

For me, either of the following work in yafu.ini:
[CODE]jsonpretty
jsonpretty=1[/CODE]

Things to check:
1) make sure you have the latest .exe. I updated the executable without tweaking the version number, so you'd have needed to re-download it.
2) If the statement is the last line of the file, make sure it has a newline/carriage return.
3) I have only tested on linux and windows. I have no idea how something different could change the results but stranger things have happened.

bsquared 2022-08-17 13:06

[QUOTE=EdH;611283]Quick question: Can YAFU pass on GPU use for Msieve calls. I'm not seeing it in the docs. I thought I had in the past.[/QUOTE]

It doesn't have the ability to pass on user-input arguments to msieve as strings. If the gpu can be used without any special argument strings, and you build msieve-gpu and link it into yafu like normal, then I suppose it would work. Otherwise you'd have to modify the source.

I have only rarely used msieve-gpu... if you can provide me the special argument strings needed (if any) then I can maybe add an option to use it. Also if using the gpu changes other things like norms or min_e.

EdH 2022-08-17 13:31

[QUOTE=bsquared;611635]It doesn't have the ability to pass on user-input arguments to msieve as strings. If the gpu can be used without any special argument strings, and you build msieve-gpu and link it into yafu like normal, then I suppose it would work. Otherwise you'd have to modify the source.

I have only rarely used msieve-gpu... if you can provide me the special argument strings needed (if any) then I can maybe add an option to use it. Also if using the gpu changes other things like norms or min_e.[/QUOTE]Thanks! I think just adding [C]-g 0[/C] to the msieve call should work, but I'll play and get back with you. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't already there and I was missing it. (Maybe there's a way to have msieve default to GPU if available...)


All times are UTC. The time now is 23:05.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.