mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Prime95 v30.3 (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=25823)

henryzz 2021-01-04 11:34

[QUOTE=LaurV;568279]I have a small issue with the [B][U]32-bit version[/U][/B] of the 30.3b6, is that still supported?

I have an old machine which still runs winxp32 (albeit the cpu is a 64bit i5-3470, but I can not change the OS) and till now it was doing ECM using an older version of P95. As I wanted to switch to PRPCF and PRPCFDC, I downloaded and installed the new one over the old one. Now, I am getting "access denied" every time I try to start it, and then it crashes (the program, not the computer). It was/is in own folder (not "program files"), it had/has all the rights, and it doesn't seem that it tries to access anything (files, libraries, etc, as well as I can monitor). It just crashing with the "access denied" error without opening any window.

Libraries issues? Any other known issue? If yes, is it fixed in 30.4?[/QUOTE]

A compiler upgrade means that XP is no longer supported.

LaurV 2021-01-04 12:38

[QUOTE=henryzz;568294]A compiler upgrade means that XP is no longer supported.[/QUOTE]
However, the Win32 version is offered for download on the main site (which I did download). What is it for? (I still assume that I have a library issue, which I don't know how to solve, any "debug" or "verbose" options?)

retina 2021-01-04 13:02

[QUOTE=LaurV;568301]However, the Win32 version is offered for download on the main site (which I did download). What is it for? (I still assume that I have a library issue, which I don't know how to solve, any "debug" or "verbose" options?)[/QUOTE]Win7 also has 32-bit mode.

As for the removal of support, you will likely find that the start-up code in the exe file uses an API that XP doesn't have, so you will have no chance to fix it without modifying your OS, or neutering the errant API calls.

[size=1]Note that MS deliberately uses newer API calls in VS so that programs will fail on older OSes. There are compiler settings and/or options to disable that, but MS make them difficult to find, so very few people ever discover how to do it.[/size]

Happy5214 2021-01-05 08:56

[QUOTE=LaurV;568279]I have an old machine which still runs winxp32 (albeit the cpu is a 64bit i5-3470, but I can not change the OS) [,,,][/QUOTE]

Is Linux (either a VM or a dual-boot) an option? I'll admit I'm unsure if you can run a 64-bit guest OS in a 32-bit host.

LaurV 2021-01-05 09:46

[QUOTE=Happy5214;568451]Is Linux (either a VM or a dual-boot) an option? I'll admit I'm unsure if you can run a 64-bit guest OS in a 32-bit host.[/QUOTE]
This machine [U]has[/U] a dual boot and it is sometimes booted in Linux to build binaries (like compile device trees and stuff which are arm-linux related), but it runs windows 99% of the time for other things. And I suck at linux. :sad:

ixfd64 2021-01-06 16:54

[QUOTE=Happy5214;568451]I'll admit I'm unsure if you can run a 64-bit guest OS in a 32-bit host.[/QUOTE]

You can as long as you have a 64-bit processor: [url]https://stackoverflow.com/questions/56124/can-i-run-a-64-bit-vmware-image-on-a-32-bit-machine[/url]

ssybesma 2021-01-17 23:58

how to stop PRP checks
 
Hello,


I was pointed to this thread for this issue.



I'm trying to discover out how to stop PRP checks using mprime.


I'm using the version of mprime that was the latest as of November last year.



I understand the proof file PRPs use is large. The disk space I have on these devices is at a premium but they run LL's just fine without ever crashing mprime like PRPs do.


Thanks,


Steve

James Heinrich 2021-01-18 00:31

[QUOTE=ssybesma;569555]I'm trying to discover out how to stop PRP checks using mprime.[/QUOTE]All new first-time checks will be run with PRP.
There is a large number of LL double-checks that need to be run on exponents in the 50M-100M range, this should solve your problem nicely.
In [c]mprime -m[/c] (menu) choose [c](2) Test/Worker threads[/c], however many workers you want to run, then select worktype [c]151 - Double-check prime tests[/c] and those should all be LL.

ssybesma 2021-01-18 01:06

Hello James Heinrich,

That suddenly just made 13 devices I have unable to run first time checks forever. Everything was going fine until I upgraded to a certain version.

So what version would I need to go back to in order for PRP checks to stop?

Thanks,

Steve

VBCurtis 2021-01-18 01:25

You should not downgrade- an LL test requires a double-check, while a PRP with a proof certificate does not. That's why all first-time checks are now PRP.

If you do manage to downgrade and run first-time LLs, your net contribution to the project drops to near zero, because the effort required to double-check your work is very nearly equal to doing the PRP-with-proof; in fact, since a non-matching double check would require a 3rd check, it's cheaper to ignore your LL result and PRP as a "double check".

If you can't find 150MB or so of disk for your PRP-proof data, please do the LL double checks rather than downgrading.

Uncwilly 2021-01-18 01:27

[QUOTE=ssybesma;569560]So what version would I need to go back to in order for PRP checks to stop?[/QUOTE]The commands/menu choices will be the same for all recent (current version and the past 5 years or so) major versions. There is no need to revert the machines to a previous version.


All times are UTC. The time now is 01:53.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.