mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Cloud Computing (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=134)
-   -   "Unable to connect to the runtime" - Colab (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=25418)

chalsall 2020-04-22 12:42

[QUOTE=EdH;543404]This sounds excellent - I will have to learn how to do it. I've been using your tunnels with vi to make simple edits and looking for an easier way.[/QUOTE]

Unfortunately for your use-case, it won't be of assistance. The VIM key-bindings are only for editing Sections within the Notebooks, not arbitrary files in the filesystem.

EdH 2020-04-22 13:24

[QUOTE=chalsall;543428]Unfortunately for your use-case, it won't be of assistance. The VIM key-bindings are only for editing Sections within the Notebooks, not arbitrary files in the filesystem.[/QUOTE]:sad:
I am glad you let me know, preventing me from the frustration of trying.:smile:

kladner 2020-04-22 14:03

Last night I shut down the 2 notebooks running at the time on my original account and logged that one off. Fired up the new (unpaid) gmail account. Started the 2 notebooks that had not been running (I have 4 total). Imagine my delight when I was able to get a P100 and a T4. :w00t: These ran for 8-1/4 hours until I woke up, switched to the paid account, and fired up all 4 again. All are now crunching away on P100s. :smile:

I am hoping to be able to repeat this pattern for similar results. I am working on a theory of self-regulation to head off timeouts.

kladner 2020-04-22 22:51

I worked the same scheme just now.I logged out of one Google account and into the other. The first notebook came up with a P4, but after a couple of (factory) resets I got a T4. The second notebook launched took several more resets, but I now have 2 T4s running. :grin:

I ran 2 notebooks last night for about 8 hours. They had P100s, and I wasn't persistent in trying for more. That was my #s 3 and 4 notebooks. Tonight I'm running #s 1 and 2. I doubt it makes a difference anyway.

However, I can confirm that free accounts are able to get T4s, which I've never seen on Paid. I don't think I've tried repeated resets there, like I did tonight on Free.

It seems there is still some tie-in between accounts, as when I am running Paid x4, I can't get Free to load. It is the Too Many Sessions error. Of course, this is with both accounts logged in, so the connection is obvious.


Another EDIT: Could this thread maybe transmogrify into a General Colab Discussion? It has accumulated a lot of information, but newer users might not think to look there, unless they had the same error. I am a fairly clumsy and ignorant supermod, but I probably change the title without screwing up. Another question might involve merging other Colab-related threads, but that's another whole can of worms for me. :max: [Can O Worms Emo is just too big.]
Maybe I'll just start a thread and copy informative posts into it. Ideas?

kladner 2020-04-23 18:10

Thursday morning all notebooks are getting stuck on the self-test. Same result in Firefox and Chrome.

PhilF 2020-04-23 18:36

I just connected manually and got my normal CPU-only sessions, but the welcome page has changed. I bet they have made a change in their interface that has affected Chris's notebooks and/or sessions.

mrk74 2020-04-23 18:46

[QUOTE=kladner;543561]Thursday morning all notebooks are getting stuck on the self-test. Same result in Firefox and Chrome.[/QUOTE]


I've had P-1 running for about 4 hours just fine, Started a second instance and got stuck on selftest too. Notified Chris about it.


Edit: Just broke out of the self test and got TF + P-1

chalsall 2020-04-23 19:05

[QUOTE=PhilF;543564]I just connected manually and got my normal CPU-only sessions, but the welcome page has changed. I bet they have made a change in their interface that has affected Chris's notebooks and/or sessions.[/QUOTE]

Nope... An SPE. Sorry guys.

I had LG72D focusing on the high end of 100M. But then Oliver came in and reserved a huge batch of candidates to take up to 77.

I need to add a fall-back code path, such that if the targeted assignments aren't available, it will at least hand out /something/.

PhilF 2020-04-23 19:16

[QUOTE=chalsall;543568]I need to add a fall-back code path, such that if the targeted assignments aren't available, it will at least hand out /something/.[/QUOTE]

Well, I could use an ice cream cone. Just sayin....

kladner 2020-04-23 23:28

On the bright side, I got some T4 time on my second account this morning, though it took lots of resets. Could only get a P100 on a second instance. Poor poor pitiful me. I stopped that one at 5 hours in the interest of self-regulation and Google placation. I got offered K80s and P4s several times, so getting what I did made it a pretty good morning.

I did have to take a break for a while when all notebooks got stuck on Allocating memory. At the time I took it as one of those signs that one should sign out as gracefully as possible. Whether it's a systemic malfunction, or the Usage Hounds nipping at your heels, or something else, there are times when Things Just Aren't Working and you might as well call it quits.

Interesting note: right now I have a P-1 using 10.91 GB on Stage 2. That's the highest I've seen, and it turned the bar a darker orange. Available RAM is 12.72 GB.

kladner 2020-04-24 22:25

It seems 2200 UTC [I]might[/I] be a time to snag T4s. I made another account about that time and have 2 T4s running. :cool: Earlier I was not so fortunate.
Now have 4 accounts, though I have not succeeded in evading limits when logged into more than one. Switching between one paid (4 instances) and 3 freebies (2 instances) can work pretty well when the free accounts are sometimes getting T4s easily.

I have also come to think that limiting runs of whatever number of session to around 6 hours and then switching accounts may work around usage limits. :smile:
EDIT: 0300 UTC Saturday was not yielding any T4s on the free accounts, so I made do with 4 P100s on the paid account. :smile: 1120+ GHz/d for the 6 hours it will run before I switch off to another account in the morning.


All times are UTC. The time now is 01:05.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.