![]() |
Build 5 is ready -- mainly for Ken and kruoli.
|
[QUOTE=Zhangrc;590369]The bug […][/QUOTE]
This problem is really hard to reproduce – I tried multiple times over multiple versions. Sometimes it is there, sometimes not. I remember some posts in the past mentioning this problem, it even occurred to me that I myself reported it some time ago – but I could not find it then. The problem happens when the text box looses focus. In the video, you can see that it changes back briefly to 3 when the window gets closed, but only if you enter a [I]smaller[/I] value. But lets have a look at the code… The problem is (assumption here, but I'm relatively sure) the function [C]min_cores_for_work_pref[/C] which gets called from the event handler when leaving the text box. These lines are important (from 30.6b4 source): [CODE]cores = cores * 24 / CPU_HOURS; if (cores > (int) NUM_CPUS) cores = NUM_CPUS;[/CODE] You have [C]NUM_CPUS = 8[/C] in your example. Assuming you set 8 h per day, [C]cores = cores * 24 / 8[/C]. Since [C]cores[/C] is set to 1 before that snippet, because you are [I]not[/I] running 100M digit tests (then it would be 4), [C]cores[/C] will be 3 afterward. [U]This value gets returned (in this case 3) and set back into the text box[/U] (lines 328-332 and 335, 336 and 339-340 in WorkerDlg.c). This should happen for CPU_HOURS from 8 to 11, inclusively. @George: You might have to set your CPU hours per day to e.g. 1, have multiple workers and then should be able to reproduce this. |
[QUOTE][Oct 14 23:38:49] Timing 384K FFT, 6 cores, 1 worker. Average times: 0.27 ms. Total throughput: 3727.40 iter/sec.
[Oct 14 23:39:04] Timing 384K FFT, 6 cores, 2 workers. Average times: 0.50, 0.50 ms. Total throughput: 4004.31 iter/sec. [I][B][COLOR=Red][Oct 14 23:39:19] Timing 384K FFT, 6 cores hyperthreaded, 1 worker. Average times: 0.27 ms. Total throughput: 3743.41 iter/sec. [Oct 14 23:39:34] Timing 384K FFT, 6 cores hyperthreaded, 2 workers. Average times: 0.50, 0.50 ms. Total throughput: 3990.78 iter/sec.[/COLOR][/B][/I] [Oct 14 23:39:49] [Oct 14 23:39:49] Throughput benchmark complete. [Oct 14 23:39:49] Throughput benchmark complete. [Oct 14 23:39:49] Worker stopped. [/QUOTE] But CPU i5-9600K doesnot have HT cores. |
[QUOTE=pepi37;590592]But CPU i5-9600K doesnot have HT cores.[/QUOTE]
Windows or Linux? Did the dialog box allow you to select the "Use hyperthreading" checkbox? [B]Nevermind. Fix coming in build 6.[/B] |
[QUOTE=kruoli;590526]
@George: You might have to set your CPU hours per day to e.g. 1, have multiple workers and then should be able to reproduce this.[/QUOTE] [QUOTE=Zhangrc;590369]The bug is really strange ...[/QUOTE] Thanks kruoli. I'll add text to worker windows dialog box to explain that there is a minimum number of cores. |
An explanation might not be sufficient (or would need to include a workaround like setting CPU hours to 24 while editing the worker window or manually editing the setting text files). Consider this (in my opinion realistic) example:
Someone wants to do work with small FFTs (ECM, PRP-CF, etc.). He has 8 cores. He has 8 CPU hours per day set. He found out that four workers with two threads each give the best throughput (which is realistic for the work I described). If he then tries to enter that in the worker window, he is forced to give [U]3[/U] threads to each of the 4 worker windows, which is clearly nonsensical. Naturally, Prime95 will complain that this is over-allocation. Possible solution: The minimum number of threads cannot exceed floor((CPU cores)/(worker count)). But there is another problem: If PrimeNet is disabled, these requirements are still enforced (just tested that). Why should we enforce such requirements if somebody is doing something out of PrimeNet space? Possible solution: If PrimeNet is disabled, the minimum number of threads is always 1. |
1 Attachment(s)
[QUOTE=Prime95;590515]
Try sending me prime.txt, local.txt and I'll try to reproduce again. Weird.[/QUOTE] Here you are :bounce: |
[QUOTE=Zhangrc;590640]Here you are :bounce:[/QUOTE]
As kruoli successfully diagnosed, your solution is to change the hours per day setting in Options/CPU. |
1 Attachment(s)
Still getting a considerable CERT ETA mismatch (weeks), with 843M and v30.7b5.
|
[QUOTE=kruoli;590639]If PrimeNet is disabled, the minimum number of threads is always 1.[/QUOTE]
Even if PrimeNet is enabled, the number of threads should be allowed to set to whatever number people want. Modern CPU cores are really fast, and the big cores in Alder Lake are even faster. (Never seen any consumer CPUs running at > 5GHZ before) Also, The "For help, press F1" at the bottom left corner has practically no use. If I press F1, a message box appears, which says "Failed to launch help." I thought it was due to a file shortage. There was a CHM file in the past, but somehow get removed. (No need to reinstate it, since the CHM file reader is old enough. However it can cause some inconsistencies) |
Something strange is going on here, suddenly it keeps saying 100% done. Version was Linux64,Prime95,v30.7,build 5. I might have accidentially changed the B1 sizes in worktodo.txt after a save file has been created, maybe this was the root cause?
[C] ... [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:00] M6025297 stage 2 is 66.43% complete. Time: 17.019 sec. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:01] M6058333 stage 1 is 99.72% complete. Time: 42.995 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:01] M6025297 stage 2 is 66.63% complete. Time: 18.497 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:01] M6025297 stage 2 is 66.82% complete. Time: 17.966 sec. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:01] M6058333 stage 1 complete. 1975688 transforms. Total time: 3637.744 sec. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:01] Conversion of stage 1 result complete. 5 transforms, 1 modular inverse. Time: 2.732 sec. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:01] Available memory is 3072MB. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:01] M6025297 stage 2 is 67.01% complete. Time: 17.050 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] M6025297 stage 2 is 67.20% complete. Time: 16.904 sec. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:02] D: 840, relative primes: 1188, stage 2 primes: 10930004, pair%=98.65 [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] Restarting worker with new memory settings. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] P-1 on M6025297 with B1=2000000, B2=200000000 [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] Using FMA3 FFT length 320K, Pass1=320, Pass2=1K, clm=4 [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] Available memory is 3074MB. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] D: 840, relative primes: 1191, stage 2 primes: 10930004, pair%=98.67 [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] Using 3078MB of memory. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:02] Using 3070MB of memory. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] Stage 2 init complete. 2499 transforms. Time: 19.738 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] M6025297 stage 2 is 100.00% complete. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:02] Stage 2 init complete. 2496 transforms. Time: 73.500 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:02] M6025297 stage 2 is 100.00% complete. Time: 16.709 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:03] M6025297 stage 2 is 100.00% complete. Time: 17.558 sec. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:03] M6058333 stage 2 is 0.15% complete. Time: 28.509 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:03] M6025297 stage 2 is 100.00% complete. Time: 18.477 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:03] M6025297 stage 2 is 100.00% complete. Time: 17.475 sec. [Worker #1 Oct 18 17:03] M6058333 stage 2 is 0.32% complete. Time: 36.625 sec. [Worker #2 Oct 18 17:04] M6025297 stage 2 is 100.00% complete. Time: 17.986 sec. ... [/C] |
All times are UTC. The time now is 17:54. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.