mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   PrimeNet (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Avoid ”Restarting all worker windows using new settings.“ (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=26106)

Ensigm 2020-10-20 16:50

Avoid ”Restarting all worker windows using new settings.“
 
As noted in [URL="https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=26059"]a previous thread[/URL], I'm doing some manual Pm1 factoring using mprime, and results are automatically reported to the server by using the following settings
[CODE]
NoMoreWork=1
ManualComm=0
UsePrimenet=1
[/CODE]
in prime.txt.

However, I notice sometimes the program will restart the worker shortly after it contacts the server, with the message ”Restarting all worker windows using new settings.“. If the restart happens during Stage 2, it will cause the loss of ~7 mins. I don't need to control the program settings from the mersenne.org. How to avoid this happening?

Uncwilly 2020-10-20 18:04

This is likely caused by time of day and your memory settings. It is likely only coincidental to the communication. What are your memory settings for day and night and the hours set for that.
Look under "Options" the location has changed since v30 came out, so look around a little.

Ensigm 2020-10-20 18:18

[QUOTE=Uncwilly;560443]This is likely caused by time of day and your memory settings. It is likely only coincidental to the communication. What are your memory settings for day and night and the hours set for that.
Look under "Options" the location has changed since v30 came out, so look around a little.[/QUOTE]

My memory setting is
[CODE]Memory=8192[/CODE] in [I]local.txt[/I], with no difference between day and night.

I don't think it's coincidental. The terminal output I got in whole is
[CODE][Comm thread Oct 20 11:04] Updating computer information on the server
[Comm thread Oct 20 11:04] Exchanging program options with server
[Comm thread Oct 20 11:04] Exchanging program options with server
[Main thread Oct 20 11:04] Restarting all worker windows.
[Comm thread Oct 20 11:04] Done communicating with server.
[Work thread Oct 20 11:04] Worker stopped.
[Main thread Oct 20 11:04] Restarting all worker windows using new settings.
[Work thread Oct 20 11:04] Worker starting[/CODE]

pinhodecarlos 2020-12-05 08:30

1 Attachment(s)
Somehow now I can't manually communicate with the server, see picture below (p95v303b6.win64)

Ensigm 2020-12-05 08:37

[QUOTE=pinhodecarlos;565333]Somehow now I can't manually communicate with the server, see picture below (p95v303b6.win64)[/QUOTE] I'm not using windows so I'm not sure about the problem, but maybe it has something to do with the [C]ManualComm=0[/C]? I understand what the other two options do but not this one.

pinhodecarlos 2020-12-05 08:47

[QUOTE=Ensigm;565334]I'm not using windows so I'm not sure about the problem, but maybe it has something to do with the [C]ManualComm=0[/C]? I understand what the other two options do but not this one.[/QUOTE]

It doesn’t matter if I set to 0 or 1 or take it out.

kruoli 2020-12-05 13:03

Have you set the tick of "Use PrimeNet to get work and report results" in Test/PrimeNet...?


All times are UTC. The time now is 08:23.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.