mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   PrimeNet (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   OFFICIAL "SERVER PROBLEMS" THREAD (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=5758)

kladner 2014-03-22 01:00

[QUOTE=blip;369567]Two factors I found with mfaktc were reported as "[SIZE=2]F-PM1". Shouldn't that be "F"?

[/SIZE][/QUOTE]

If factor line are reported before at least one NF line, PrimeNet misinterprets the information as P-1. If you are manually submitting, put an NF line first, even if it has already been submitted. You will get an Error 40, Not Needed, but the F lines will be correctly identified.

EDIT: One advantage of MISFIT is that it will not allow a Factor line to be submitted first.

snme2pm1 2014-03-22 01:38

Primenet work value
 
[QUOTE=blip;369567]Two factors I found with mfaktc were reported as "[SIZE=2]F-PM1". Shouldn't that be "F"?

[/SIZE][/QUOTE]

Until this month it was my practice when using mfakto and mfaktc to complete an entire range rather than quit upon a found factor.
Since credit arrangements have evidently been altered, and due to comments by others in this place that PrimeNet does not bother to record whether bit ranges have been completed, then it now seems more than ever before futile to continue such labour beyond the first found factor.
Returning to your subject, in particular two factors found, which is itself rare, I pose the question as to whether you are entertaining more work by your equipment than is deemed useful by primenet?

kladner 2014-03-22 12:11

I have the occasional 2-factor day, but I run two high-end 5xx cards. Of course, there are plenty of No-Factor days to balance things out.

blip 2014-03-22 15:08

[QUOTE=snme2pm1;369576]
Returning to your subject, in particular two factors found, which is itself rare, I pose the question as to whether you are entertaining more work by your equipment than is deemed useful by primenet?[/QUOTE]
Now it is three factors. What do you mean by "entertaining more work"? I get my factoring assignments either directly from primenet or via gpu72.

Since I submit my resuts with help of gpu72 submit_spider, I consider then the fact that factors found with mfakt[c/o] are counted as F-PM1 to be a bug of this particular script. What do you think?

Misfit is not an option, as I am running these machines on Linux.

chalsall 2014-03-22 19:11

[QUOTE=blip;369599]Since I submit my resuts with help of gpu72 submit_spider, I consider then the fact that factors found with mfakt[c/o] are counted as F-PM1 to be a bug of this particular script. What do you think?[/QUOTE]

This is a Primenet bug, which has been very well defined and documented by several people for several years now.

It is actually a simple fix for the people behind Primenet.

And yet, for some reason, it receives no attention, even though the mfakt[c/o] authors went out of their way to provide all the knowledge needed for the Primenet people to correctly interpret the results.

Hmmmm....

petrw1 2014-03-22 19:36

[QUOTE=chalsall;369604]This is a Primenet bug, which has been very well defined and documented by several people for several years now.

It is actually a simple fix for the people behind Primenet.

And yet, for some reason, it receives no attention, even though the mfakt[c/o] authors went out of their way to provide all the knowledge needed for the Primenet people to correctly interpret the results.

Hmmmm....[/QUOTE]

Maybe not just mkfaktx. I've done standard CPU TF in the past and on a couple occasions got P-1 credit. Though, I believe 1 was from a V4 client and 1 was from a Manual Results which may not have had enough info.

swl551 2014-03-22 19:53

[url]http://mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=18643&page=2[/url]


james said he'd fix results processing back in October 2013.

snme2pm1 2014-03-22 22:26

[QUOTE=blip;369599]What do you mean by "entertaining more work"?
[/QUOTE]

I was alluding to the StopAfterWork option.
Apparently in mfaktc.ini, StopAfterWork=1 default, which will complete the bitlevel, potentially finding more factors.
From my version in mfakto.ini, StopAfterWork=2 default, which will not complete the bitlevel range after a first find.

James Heinrich 2014-03-22 22:34

[QUOTE=swl551;369608]james said he'd fix results processing back in October 2013.[/QUOTE]It's true, I'm failing. :no:

I did [Nov 2013] rewrite the results-parsing code (basically lifted directly from mersenne.ca) but I had great trouble with troubleshooting the process of inserting results into the database. I speak MySQL, Primenet speaks MS-SQL, and we don't get on. The process looks something like this: :bangheadonwall:

I guess this is my poke to have a 4th look at it and see if I can get somewhere closer than I was before. I used to be optimistic, that has gone, but I'll try taking another look.

James Heinrich 2014-03-22 22:37

[QUOTE=snme2pm1;369576]Returning to your subject, in particular two factors found, which is itself rare, I pose the question as to whether you are entertaining more work by your equipment than is deemed useful by primenet?[/QUOTE]I think you interpreted "I found two factors" as "I found two factors on the same exponent", but I don't believe that's what [i]blip[/i] meant.

edit: 2 factors isn't "common", but not all that rare -- in fact I don't bother to track fewer than 4 factors per exponent because there's far too many of them:
[url]http://www.mersenne.ca/manyfactors.php[/url]

chalsall 2014-03-22 23:13

[QUOTE=James Heinrich;369618]It's true, I'm failing. :no:[/QUOTE]

James, we appreciate your work.

Is there anything we can do to assist?


All times are UTC. The time now is 05:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.